The Honors College Faculty Awards

The Honors College Awards Selection Committee is proud to announce the recipients of this year’s faculty awards!  These awards recognize Honors College faculty for their outstanding service to our students and our community.  This year, the committee has selected:

M&M-20-30176 PH.D Ashley Purpura interacting with Students in class

Adam Watkins, Outstanding Teaching Award

Adam WatkinsWatkins is recognized in particular for his innovative, interdisciplinary courses, including HONR-399: Space-Time!, which utilizes creative writing to bridge across the sciences and humanities, and HONR-299: Exploring Place, which offers a novel approach to community-based learning. Dr. Watkins is also the author or co-author of three recent scholarly publications that detail innovative models for honors-based and leadership pedagogy. Congratulations Dr. Watkins!

Dwaine Jengelley, Pillar Award for Outstanding Research Mentorship

Dwaine JengelleyJengelley is recognized for the ways he has advanced the mission of the Honors College to engage students in meaningful undergraduate research experiences. Dr. Jengelley has made the close mentorship of our students in research a regular and central aspect of his pedagogy, both inside and outside of the classroom, and he has been known to adapt his own research programs to incorporate the interests and goals of his students. Congratulations Dr. Jengelley!

Nathan Swanson, Pillar Award for Global and Community Engagement

Nathan SwansonSwanson is recognized for his commitments to intercultural learning. Dr. Swanson is the Honors Faculty Preceptor for Global House, an online, transnational learning community for honors students that currently serves the academic and social needs of our off-campus students. He has also recently been instrumental in university-wide efforts to address the barriers students face to participating in study abroad opportunities. Congratulations Dr. Swanson!